top of page

American GI Forum Awards Scholarships to Veterans on the Anniversary of Founder's 100th Birthday
Beatrice Perez Women's Chapter

American GI Forum of Texas, Inc., Corpus Chrisiti, TX – Members of the American GI Forum State and National joined the Beatrice Perez Women’s Chapter as they celebrated the 100th anniversary of their founder’s birthday Friday January 17, 2014  with their Annual Veterans Scholarship Awards Ceremony. (Click for Photos)

The event hosted by Chapter Chairwoman Leslie Cristan was held at the Harold T. Branch Academy as National Chairwoman Patsy Vazquez-Contes performed the duties of Master of Ceremonies. Dr. Sonia Adriana Noyola, a social studies instructor for the Corpus Christi Independent School District keynoted the event. Ms. Wanda Garcia, daughter of Dr. Hector P. Garcia was also present as a speaker.

Four-one thousand dollar scholarships were award to four area Veterans. US Army Sgt. Guadalupe Chapa, Navy 2nd Class Petty Officer Fred Salinas, Marine Cpl. Andres Benavidez and Army Sgt Joe Ayala were the recipients of this year’s Veterans’ Awards. Ms. Emily Peña, a student at the Irma Rangel College of Pharmacy at Texas A&M, Kingsville received the Dr. Xico P. Garcia Memorial Scholarship of one thousand dollars.

Additionally the Graduating Class of the Academy each received Microsoft Surface Tablets. And the attendees received a Commemorative Calendar honoring the life and accomplishments of Dr. Hector P. Garcia.

Mr. Larry R. Elizondo, Sr., received a Special Community Achievement Award from the Beatrice Perez Chapter, presented by Ms Wanda Garcia. National Commander Luis Vazquez-Contes presented long-time Texas Region 1 Commander Richard Dominguez a Lifetime of Commitment Award. Mrs. Anita Dominguez accepted the award for the absent Commander Dominguez.

Funding for the scholarships and tablets came from Citgo, H-E-B and Wells Fargo. They received special Recognition Awards for their continued support of this AGIF Corpus Christi Program. Other sponsors recognized were Corpus Christi Caller-Times, Whataburger and Texas A&M University among others mentioned.

The large crowd in attendence included many local and statewide dignitaries as well as corporate leaders. State Senator Juan ‘Chuy’ Inojosa was among State Representatives, County Commissioners, Judges, City Council and American GI Forum National and State Leaders. National Commander Luis Vazquez-Contes, Vice Commander Carlos Rivera, National Chairwoman Patsy Vazquez-Contez, National and State Youth Chair Stephanie Lefthand, State Commander John Martinez, State Chairwoman Tina Olivares, State Executive Gil Rodriguez, State Legal Advisor Amador Garcia and local and commanders and chairs from state-wide area chapters.

Chairwoman Leslie Cristan, Beatrice Perez Women, her Chapter and National Chairwoman Patsy Vazquez Contes deserve much credit for an outstanding job and for the continuance of a great program.

AGIF Dr. Fermin Calderon Del Rio Chapter Scholarship Winners


Smiling students hold up the checks they received from the American G.I Forum Dr. Fermin Calderon Chapter at a recent ceremony. Commander Joe Martinez and Ladies Chair Tina Martinez presented the scholarships of $500 each to 26 graduates of Del Rio High School and Radiance Academy. A total of $13,000 were awarded.

                                                                                 The 26 students who won the scholarships are Amy Adams, Gilberto Arizpe, Audri Arreola, Audrea Calderon, Fermin David Calderon, Hector Cesar Calderon, Jose Adrian Calderon, Sheila Corcino (Radiance Academy), Ariel Cordova, Lisa Y. Diaz, Clarissa M. Faz, Rosendo H. Franco, Katia Garza, Kelsey Green, Cristela Hernandez, Sara Howard, Yesmenia Meza, Grecia Montemayor, Crystal Padilla, Asiris G. Rodriguez, Andrea M. Urueta, Oscar Valdez, Carolina Vaquera, Zachary A. Vasquez, Michael Westlake and Kaitlin Witt. Not all the winners were present for the group photograph at the presentation ceremony

bottom of page